Uncategorized

Where I will take you to in Colombia…

I only have 8 months left in Colombia in my Peace Corps service, prime time for friends and family to come to visit. Colombia does not have your typical vacation spot appeal, but it offers a diverse selection of activities that I am sure friends and family at home would LOVE to explore and enjoy its’ secret treasures.

The country offers breathtaking beaches, jungle mountains, unique cities, and novel adventures. Colombia is one of the most biodiverse countries in the world. Depending on the person, there will be something for you. There is so much to see and I want to show off this country where I have spent almost two years. So to my dearest friends and family, pick a date, grab your travelers backpack, and decide who you are and what you look for in a trip…

For those that love a warm Carribean vibe, 

I would take us to Cartagena, known as the “jewel of the Caribbean” – the lively city with flavor, beautiful buildings, a surrounding castle, tasty food, a beach, and lots of dancing. My favorite thing to do here is put on a simple breezy dress, find a good friend, and get lost roaming the streets together.

 

 

 

 

For those that love cities, 

I would take us to Medellin. Medellin is known as the “city of eternal spring” and is an innovative, naturey, trendy city, that was once known as the most dangerous city in the world. It has beautiful parks and gardens, hiking trails, Metrocable cars to previously isolated neighborhoods, local paisa dish (bandeja paisa, regional dish of meat, beans, rice, plantain,) cafes, fun nightlife, and breathtaking mountain views. Medellin is like a mix of New York meets jungle. One of my favorite tours was in the Comuna 13 neighborhood (formerly the most violent neighborhood in the world) that has been converted to tourism, with urban escalators, symbolic graffiti, and locals ready to tell their story.

 

 

 

 

For those that love coffee and amazing landscapes,

I would take us to the coffee triangle (Eje cafetero). Here you will experience traditional Colombia. It is about three hours from Medellin and offers great coffee (as the name sells) but also beautiful hikes with the world’s tallest palm trees (in a place that looks straight out of a Dr. Seuss book). There are also many gorgeous small traditional towns to explore in this area.

 

 

 

 

For those that want a TRULY authentic experience, 

I will take you to my site… 3 hours from Cartagena, 4 hours from Barranquilla, and 8 hours from Santa Marta – located in the department of Sucre thirty minutes outside the capital, Sincelejo. Los Palmitos is as authentic pueblo as it can get. Known for its’ watermelon and tobacco – it has a natural charm to it. I love the people in my town, but there really is not much to do here nor many people that speak English, so this will remain for those brave souls.

 

 

 

 

For those that want to kick it on the beach,

There are many island options. A couple off the coast of Cartagena and some off the coast an hour from where I live. This is for those that are looking to just relax during their vacation in an isolated island, laying in the sun surrounded by crystal blue water, good seafood, and the opportunity to see unique sea creatures.

 

 

 

 

For those that want adventure,

I would take us to San Gil – a quaint town surrounded by mountains in the department of Santander, and Colombia’s adventure capital. San Gil has numerous adventure sports and camping options. This is for the crazy adrenaline-seeking souls that want to paraglide, white water raft, do a bicycle tour, bungee jumping, etc. This has been one of my favorite trips so far and I cannot wait to return.

 

 

 

 

For those that want a little bit of it all (and my personal fave),

We would go to Santa Marta and the surrounding pueblos! Santa Marta has a beach, city, mountains, adventure, and authentic culture all in one.  I would have to take us on my favorite tour in a pueblo an hour away from the city, a 2 hour hike up to a farm of a local campesino, a volunteer’s co-worker who she business advises (Anibal) who has since catered to many gringos in our search for a relaxing escape from Peace Corps life. Anibal offers a place to sleep in a hammock (up in the mountains), where you can eat vegetarian food, take a cacao tour (and eat it), sit by a fire, hear the history of the violence in the area, and look over the mountains while being completely isolated from the rest of the world. It is truly a unique experience and has been one of my favorite spots in Colombia, especially when sharing it with great people.

 

 

 

 

My time in Colombia is running out! I will be traveling with family in December and plan on traveling throughout South America once I finish Peace Corps in April. Come join in on one of the adventures, and we can explore the wonders of this crazy, beautiful world together 🙂

Leave a comment